

Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Establishment of the Film Industry Working Group

Portfolio Workplace Relations and Safety

On 13 December 2017, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- **noted** that the government has committed to restoring the right for film production workers to collectively bargain;
- agreed to establish a Film Industry Working Group to make recommendations on changes to the regulatory framework for film industry workers that will restore the rights of film production workers to collectively bargain;
- agreed that the Film Industry Working Group's recommendations should also:
 - 3.1 allow film production workers who wish to continue working as individual contractors to do so;
 - 3.2 provide certainty to encourage continued investment in New Zealand by film production companies;
 - 3.3 maintain competition between businesses offering film production services to promote a vibrant, strong and world-leading film industry;
- 4 **agreed** to the Terms of Reference for the Film Industry Working Group, attached as Annex One to the paper under CBC-17-SUB-0077;
- agreed that the Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety (the Minister) invite the parties listed in paragraph 25 of the paper under CBC-17-SUB-0077 to be members of the Film Industry Working Group;
- 6 **noted** that:
 - 6.1 the Minister intends to appoint Linda **CLARK** as the facilitator for the Film Industry Working Group;
 - 6.2 Ms Clark will be paid a fee consistent with the Cabinet Fees Framework;

- authorised the Minister to make minor amendments to the Terms of Reference and membership of the Film Industry Working Group, in consultation with the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage and the Minister for Economic Development;
- 8 **invited** the Minister to report to Cabinet on the government response to the recommendations of the Film Industry Working Group by August 2018.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair)

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon David Clark

Hon Nania Mahuta

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon James Shaw

Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet